Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Review: The Cuckoo's Calling by J.K Rowling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

Crime thriller is not an easy genre to try your hands on. It has to be written with flair and command. Sometimes it doesn't gives you the exact same feel as what you expect from the book. Author J.K Rowling in her latest venture and first crime thriller "The Cuckoo's Calling" has penned down something very different from what she specializes in. So has she be able to do it with conviction? Let's find out. 

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get and the closer he gets to terrible danger.
A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

First look at the title and the cover and a lot of people will easily guess the genre of the book. The title is different and unique and the cover image with a man walking away in the night shades is something which is eerie. The blurb talks about a murder and how everyone goes about handling it. The blurb has concealed the mysterious elements of the story and doesn't gives out anything. 

The story starts off where a troubled model falls off from her balcony and it sends shock waves down the whole industry. Media hypes it up and that brings into picture Detective Cormoran Strike as he his hired by her brother to look into the matter and rule out any foul play. With his war veteran instincts and uncanny knack Strike goes about digging up dirt. So will he hit the sweet spot? Is it a suicide or a murder? What is the hidden motive behind this suicide? That's what the story is all about. 

The book has been broken into parts for the convenience of the readers and makes it easy to wave through the whole story. Strike is a striking character seemingly fit for this thriller. The book has some moments in it which keeps the readers interest aroused. 

The sluggish pace is a big downside of the book. The obviousness is another factor which makes it very dragged towards the end. The crude language is also a big letdown when reading the crime thriller. The suspense could have been enhanced more. The end is way too simple and easy. 

All in all the book is not up to the expectations of the readers. The effort is good but it doesn't lives up to the hype. The book has it's share of thrills at first but fades away with time. An attempt gone awfully wrong by the author. 


2 OUT OF 5

No comments:

Post a Comment